Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Broadcasters celebrate…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Broadcasters celebrate TAB’s 60th Anniversary at Convention

More than 1,200 Texas broadcasters and industry players descended on Austin Aug. 7-8 for TAB’s 60th Annual Convention and Trade Show which featured some of the country’s premier advertising and new media experts, communications lawyers, technology gurus and 121 exhibit booths.

“From start to finish, this year’s convention appears to have really hit the right spot for our delegates, exhibitors and sponsors,” said TAB President Oscar Rodriguez.

“The planning committee was generous with their time and ideas, developing a wide-ranging program of sessions and events packed into an incredibly tight timeframe.

“I invite all members to weigh in now as we begin planning next year’s event – it’s really never too early,” he said.

Over the course of a day and a half, delegates participated in 38 technology, sales, promotions, regulatory and management sessions.

Golfers hit the course early on Aug. 8, but it was almost all work from there until the closing Awards Gala the night of Aug. 9.

Texas Troubadour Matt Caldwell performed and signed autographs for guests at the Opening Reception co-sponsored by BMI, The Nielsen Company and Haynes & Boone LLP.

Texas Broadcaster and Senator Dan Patrick, R-Houston, presented the closing keynote address at the Community Service Breakfast on Thursday, Aug. 9, with an energetic and passionate assessment of major public policy concerns confronting the State of Texas.

The breakfast also featured an address from Major August Murray with the Texas National Guard who lauded TV and Radio stations for their continuing support of the Guard’s recruitment NCSA’s which have allowed the Guard to reach and exceed their mission goal.

At the Annual Business Meeting, TAB recognized Representatives Todd Hunter, R-Corpus Christi, and Tryon Lewis, R-Odessa, for their outstanding legislative leadership in the past session passing the Defamation Mitigation Act and clarifying state copyright law regarding songs recorded before 1972.

Herman Cain joined the convention festivities, thanks to Cox Media Group, to present the keynote address at TAB’s Annual Awards Gala.

The event also featured presentation of TAB’s Annual Awards:

The 2013 Convention Planning Committee was co-chaired by Patti C. Smith, KVUE-TV Austin, and Dan Lawrie of Cox Media in San Antonio.

The committee included:

  • Ben Downs, Bryan Broadcasting
  • Tom Ehlmann, KXAS-TV Dallas-Fort Worth
  • Sarah Frazier, CBS Radio Houston
  • Jerry Hanszen, Hanszen Broadcasting
  • Jim Henkel, Emmis Austin Radio
  • Gayle Kiger, KCEN-TV Waco-Temple-Killeen
  • Chris Kiske, Brazos Valley Communications Bryan-College Station
  • David Loving, Univision Communications Houston
  • Greg McAlister, KRIS-TV Corpus Christi
  • David Ostmo, Sinclair Broadcast Group
  • Lee Parkinson, KYYK/KNET Palestine; KKHA Bay City
  • Mike Wenglar, KVUE-TV Austin
  • Joe Young, KDAF-TV Dallas-Fort Worth

TAB’s annual meeting is the largest state broadcast gathering in the country.

Planning for next year’s event, set for Aug. 6-7 at the Renaissance Austin Hotel, will begin in December.

Questions?  Contact TAB or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News