Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Industry tech,…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Industry tech, management, sales leaders anchor TAB Convention agenda

 - Register now for Aug. 10-11 event in Austin

More than 1,300 broadcasters, including station owners, GMs, engineers and sales executives, will converge on Austin Aug. 10-11 for the largest state or regional broadcast convention and trade show in the country.

Showcasing 103 of the industry’s leading technology vendors in 124 exhibit booths, the TAB show – known widely as a “mini-NAB” – is where the business of Texas broadcasting gets done.  Independent operators and leaders from every major TV and Radio station group alike will have their pick of 29 programs presented by 35 experts and innovators over a day and a half.

The aggressive, business-centric agenda dissects the evolving technology landscape for Radio and TV stations, trends shaping key advertisers’ spending plans, regulatory concerns influencing broadcasters’ operational blueprints, and marketing and management strategies to help sales teams grow revenue.

Experts on-hand represent a “Who’s Who” of industry leaders – GSD&M co-founder Roy Spence, media strategist Fred Jacobs, NextRadio visionary Paul Brenner, digital media guru Michael Pettiette, and sales and management specialists Kelly Wirges, Brandeis Hall, Paul Weyland and Brad Deutser.

The NAB’s Rick Kaplan and DC legal eagles Scott Flick, David Oxenford and Gregg Skall cover everything from major policy battles within the FCC to copyright law, music royalties, AM revitalization and regulatory compliance.

Technology leaders Kevin Gage, Jay Adrick and Wayne Pecena are joined by FCC, FEMA and PBS experts, as well as consultants and engineers from stations throughout the state. Together, they’ll take deep dives into IP standards and troubleshooting, the spectrum repack, ATSC 3.0, cybersecurity, emergency alerting and preparedness, tower safety and HDR technology.

ABC News’ chief political analyst Matthew Dowd will share his insights into political journalism during this unprecedented Presidential election season, and CBS News’ Lara Logan will keynote the Annual Awards Gala where five Texas broadcasters will be presented the industry’s top honors.

Bill Buchanan, owner of KSHN-FM Liberty, will be inducted as Pioneer of the Year, while John Kittleman, President & General Manager of KRGV-TV in the Rio Grande Valley will be honored as Broadcaster of the Year.

The George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence will be presented to Mike Wenglar, owner of KULP-AM El Campo and longtime engineer for KVUE-TV Austin.

Dan and Tim Giesler with Giesler Broadcasting Supply will be honored as TAB’s Associate of the Year.  Stephen F. Austin University’s Dr. Joe Oliver will be presented the Educator of the Year Award.

Registration is now open!

Questions? Contact TAB or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News