Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > TAB Board Elections…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

TAB Board Elections Process Underway

- Nominations Due June 18

The elections process for 12 seats on TAB’s Board of Directors is underway with nominations due June 18 for seats representing Radio and TV stations in various market sizes, as well as retired and associate members and educators. Members interested in serving may nominate themselves.

Be sure to look for an email from me sent on June 4 that includes links to lists of members eligible to serve and instructions for submitting nominations by the June 18 deadline. Ballots listing the top two nominees in each category will be emailed on June 22 and votes must be cast by July 23.

Of the 12 openings, 11 are held by incumbents eligible for re-election. Two current directors or officers are term-limited and not eligible to run again this year, including:

  • Ben Downs, Bryan Broadcasting – Executive Committee, Immediate Past Chairman
  • Jerry Martin, KPRC-TV Houston – Large Market TV

Current officers and directors whose terms continue past this year’s TAB Annual Convention are not eligible for nomination and are not listed on the nomination form.

Two other directors are eligible for nomination but not running for re-election, including:

  • Dan Balla, KWFB/KXXN/KXPN Wichita Falls
  • Ken Roberts, KBEC Waxahachie

View the status of current officers and directors

The Board meets four times per year, all in person at the TAB building in Austin. Committees meet by conference call.

Board members are responsible for advising TAB staff on member services and legislative policy, providing fiduciary oversight for the organization and assisting with all major organizational efforts, including the NCSA/PEP program, membership recruitment and the Annual Convention.

Board members are not compensated or reimbursed for traveling to Board meetings, nor do they receive complimentary admission to TAB events.

The proposed slate of officers will be presented to the membership by the TAB Nominating Committee under the leadership of TAB Board Chair Julie Pruett of Nexstar Broadcast Group.

Traditionally, each officer advances to the next position, leaving the Secretary’s office vacant. The new officer typically alternates between Radio and TV. If this tradition continues, a TV member would be recommended as Secretary this year.

Questions regarding TAB Board Elections can be directed to TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or Beth Bobbitt.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News