Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > TAB Board Elections Enter…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

TAB Board Elections Enter Final Phase; Voting Ends July 24

- Nine New Directors for Radio & TV Seats Anticipated

TAB members have selected their nominees for multiple seats on the TAB Board of Directors, with final ballots distributed June 26 to GMs so they can make selections according to their medium and market size. Results will be announced at the TAB Show in Austin Aug. 2-3.


This is the first election in which TAB is utilizing the eBallot software program to conduct the election, a fully auditable process that incorporates protections to ensure integrity of the vote, including one-to-one voting and voter authentication.

Comments received from members during the nominations process were unanimously favorable.

How Votes are Counted, Deadline

Despite the new software being utilized, the process of voting hasn’t changed.  Here’s how it works:

  • Only the GM may cast votes and they receive one for each FCC broadcast license they manage.  
  • GMs may vote only in the market category or categories they fall under, plus the Associate member seat. For example, only Small Market Radio may cast votes in the Small Market Radio races.
  • GMs who oversee both TV and Radio stations may cast votes in all races in their market size.
  • TV GMs may cast votes for the race in their market size, Large or Other, as well as for the TV At-Large seat.
  • Associate members may vote only in the Associate race.
  • All members vote either “yes” or “no” on the slate of officers.
  • Voting ends July 24

Nominees List

The following list covers all seats up for election, including the slate of officers.

Slate of Officers
Chair: Amy Villarreal, CBS Austin (Sinclair)
Vice Chair: John Moesch, West Texas Radio Odessa-Midland
Treasurer:  Luis Villarreal, KGNS-TV Laredo (Gray)
Secretary:  Brian Purdy, Audacy Dallas-Fort Worth
Past Chair:  Paul Gleiser, ATW Media LLC Tyler

Large Market Radio (Two Seats)

Seat One
Glenn Coleman, KOVE / KLAT / KAMA / KLTN / KQBU Houston 
Melissa Rivera, KGLK / KHPT / KKBQ / KTHT Houston 

Seat Two
Bob Mackay, KAMX / KJCE / KKMJ / KKMJ-HD3 Austin
Gerry Schlegel, KRVF / KFWR / KTFW / KXPN Dallas - Fort Worth 

Medium Market Radio
Chuck Conrad, KZQX / KDOK Tyler - Longview
Gary Moss, KRMX / KRZI / KBHT / KEKR / KTON Waco - Temple - Killeen 

Small Market Radio (Two Seats)

Seat One
John Butler, KWJB AM-FM Canton & KMOO Mineola
Ashlie Dansby, KGAS AM-FM Carthage

Seat Two
Christopher Sanchez, Townsquare Media Abilene
Carri Folk Schwartz, Townsquare Media Wichita Falls

Large Market TV (Two Seats)

Seat One
D’Artagnan Bebel, KRIV / KTXH Houston 
Jeff Zimmerman, KDXX / KLNO / KFLC / KFZO / KESS Dallas - Fort Worth

Seat Two
Eric Lassberg, KXAN / KBVO-CA / KBVO / KNVA Austin 
Chris Pruitt, KIAH Houston 

Other Market TV
Lori Bruffett, KBTX-TV, Bryan - College Station 
Debbie Flores, KNVO / KTFV / KFXV / KMBH / KTFV / KFXV Rio Grande Valley

AT-Large TV
Mike Lee,  KWKT Waco, KYLE Bryan - College Station 
Rebecca Cantu, KIII, Corpus Christi

James Pickens, KPAC / KSTX / KTXI / KTPR / KHVL / KCTI / KTPD San Antonio 
Luis Patino, KLRU, Austin 

Carey Martin, Texas Farm Bureau Network 
Kevin Frady, CBS Media Ventures

Golden Mic
Mary “Mike” Hatcher, Bryan Broadcasting
Craig Bean, Retired

Questions? Contact TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News