Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > TAB begins board election…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

TAB begins board election process

 - Nominations due June 22

On June 5, TAB members received an email with a call for nominations for the TAB Board of Directors, kicking off a nearly two-month process to fill nine of the 37 seats on the Board. 

Of those nine, six are held by directors eligible for re-election.

Members vote only in their market or membership categories, and also in the Associate Member election. 

Nominations are due June 22; members should reply to the email they received on Friday, June 5, after reviewing the lists provided of all members eligible to serve. 

Members may nominate themselves.

The Board meets four times per year, all in person at the TAB building in Austin.

Board members are responsible for advising TAB staff on member services and legislative policy, providing fiduciary oversight for the organization and assisting with all major organizational efforts, including the NCSA program and membership recruitment.

Board members are not compensated or reimbursed for traveling to Board meetings, nor do they receive complimentary admission to TAB events.

Current officers and directors whose terms continue past this year’s TAB Annual Convention are not eligible for nomination and are not listed on the nomination form. 

View the status of current officers and directors

Ballots listing the top two nominees for each seat and a slate of officers will be emailed to TAB members on June 26. 

Results will be announced at TAB’s Annual Convention & Trade Show, Aug. 5-6 in Austin.

Three directors are leaving the board because of term limits:

  • Lee Parkinson, KYYK/KNET Palestine and KKHA Bay City (Small Market Radio)
  • John Kittleman, KRGV-TV Rio Grande Valley (Other Market Television
  • Tom Ehlmann, KXAS-TV Dallas-Fort Worth (Large Market Television)
  • Mike Lee, KXXV-TV Waco-Temple Bryan (Executive Committee)

The proposed slate of officers will be presented to the membership by the TAB Nominating Committee under the leadership of TAB Board Chairman Chris Paddie of KMHT Marshall.

Traditionally, each officer advances to the next position, leaving the Secretary’s office vacant. The new officer typically alternates between radio and TV.

If this tradition continues, a radio member would be recommended as Secretary this year.

Questions regarding TAB Board Elections can be directed to TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or Beth Bobbitt.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News