Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > TAB, Headliners…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

TAB, Headliners Foundation Renew Green Award Partnership

- Cash Prizes Available for Texas Broadcasters

TAB and the Headliners Foundation are partnering to recognize outstanding Texas broadcasters for work produced in 2022.

The Foundation’s Charles E. Green Awards, which include $9,000 in cash prizes, will be selected based on winners of TAB’s Texas Broadcast News Awards.

The Green Awards are part of the Foundation’s robust journalism awards program, which also includes the Showcase Awards for Enterprise and Innovation.

The Foundation awards a total of $33,000 annually to Texas’ best journalists.

About Charles E. Green

Charles E. Green, publisher of the Austin American-Statesman in the 1950s, was a founding member of the Headliners Club in Austin, TX. In his memory, the Headliners Club and Foundation have been recognizing exceptional journalism for almost four decades.


Green awardees are writers, investigators, broadcasters, and photojournalists who were chosen “Best in Show” in statewide contests hosted by TAPME and TAB. The Green Awards contest places the division-level winners in six select categories in a head-to-head competition. Small, medium, and large markets compete, with one winner chosen in each of the six categories.

Cash Prizes

Green award winners in each category receive a $1,000 cash prize and are presented with the beautiful Charles E. Green trophy at an annual recognition event held in the fall at the Headliners Club. Division winners in each category (who are not chosen as the Green Award winner) receive $500 from the Foundation. Up to five team members may share the cash award. A total of $9,000 will be awarded to the winning broadcasters.

Green Awards are presented in six categories, one of which is judged alongside winners of a similar category in the TAPME contest. The broadcast categories are as follows:

  • Best Television Reporter
  • Best Investigative Report – Television
  • Best Breaking News Report – Television
  • Best Radio Reporter
  • Best Breaking News Report – Radio
  • Best Multimedia/Digital Storytelling (Judging includes winners of the TAPME Best Online/Special Content Package category.)

Who are the Judges?

Green Award winners are selected by judges from across the nation who are recognized experts in news media or academia.

They are journalists, producers, editors, journalism educators, or have retired from the industry.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News