Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Community service leaders…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Community service leaders to be honored by TAB

 - Bonner McLane Public Service Award entries due June 28

Texas’ most prestigious awards for broadcasters’ service to local communities will be presented at TAB’s Annual Convention and Trade Show Aug. 7-8 in Austin.

The Bonner McLane Public Service Awards are based on extraordinary service to local communities over a one year period and will be presented at the Community Service Awards Breakfast on Aug. 8.

The awards are named for TAB’s first executive director, Bonner McLane, who passed away in 1987.

“Texas radio and television broadcasters contribute more to their local communities than any other industry as evidenced by TAB’s annual Public Service Research Project,” said Gayle Kiger of KCEN-TV Temple and co-chair of TAB’s Awards Committee.

“As in any competitive field, there are some stations whose work in this area stands above others and it’s fitting that we as an industry recognize our peers for their leadership,” he said.

Entries are due June 28. In addition to the award, winning entrants will receive a $500 voucher for TAB services.  Vouchers cannot be used to pay dues or ABIP fees.

How the awards process works

  • Stations nominate themselves in their respective market categories using TAB’s online entry form which includes guidelines for preparing a winning entry and missteps to avoid.
  • Six awards are presented each year.
  • Stations that won in 2012 are not eligible to submit an entry this year, a change adopted by the TAB Board of Directors in January intended to encourage more participation.
  • Entrants can choose the 12-month period covered by their submission; either all of 2012 or June 1, 2012 through May 31, 2013.
  • Non-members must pay a $40 entry fee.
  • Entries are judged by a committee of former broadcasters and TAB staff members.

Questions regarding the Bonner McLane Public Service Awards can be directed to TAB’s Teresa McAnally.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News