Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Announcements and…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Announcements and departures in Republican statewide campaign for Agriculture Commissioner

Two former state representatives have joined the race for Texas Agriculture Commissioner and one current state representative is leaving the race to pursue a newly open Texas Senate seat.

After several months of speculation, former state Rep. Tommy Merritt, R-Longview, and former state Rep. Sid Miller, R-Stephenville, are now running for Texas agriculture commissioner.

Merritt represented District 7 in the Texas House of Representatives for seven terms before losing to current state Rep. David Simpson in 2010 and 2012.

Miller represented District 59 in the Texas House of Representatives for six terms before losing in the Republican primary to current state Rep.  J.D. Sheffield.  

Merritt and Miller join Republican Party attorney Eric Opiela and Uvalde Mayor J. Allen Carnes in the race.

Current state Rep. Brandon Creighton, R-Conroe, has left the agriculture commissioner race and is now running for SD4, the Texas Senate district that opened up when current state Sen. Tommy Williams, R-The Woodlands, announced he would not seek reelection.

Questions?  Contact TAB's Michael Schneider or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News