Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > 2023 TAB Show Scores Hit…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

2023 TAB Show Scores Hit with Delegates, New Location Set for 2024

- Content Wins Raves, Trade Show Hops, New Directors Announced

The nearly two dozen broadcasters who helped plan the content offerings for the 2023 TAB Show hit it out of the park, winning shout-outs from managers, sales teams and tech-heads for cutting-edge and actionable insights, even as the trade show hummed from start to finish and members elected seven new directors to the TAB Board.

With registration coming in just below 1,200, the largest state or regional broadcast gathering in the country featured 28 programs, 39 speakers and 109 vendors in 115 exhibit booths over a day and a half.

Exhibitors saw a steady stream of traffic throughout, with several out-of-state clients and longtime Texas customers signing deals as they made their way through the exhibit hall that serves as the central activity hub for the entire event.

The TAB Show, which many delegates characterized as a “mini-NAB,” provides an opportunity for vendors to talk face-to-face with broadcast clients, explore gear and troubleshoot issues.

Among the most talked about programs: AR&D’s Texas TV/Radio audience research conducted this summer and what it portends for broadcasters’ programming and marketing strategies, Mattress Mack’s opening day keynote, TAB’s Chief Radio Operator certification class, and sessions on the workforce shortage and the “boomer consumer.”

Also getting a lot of buzz were the latest installment by Sinclair’s David Ostmo of his Texas Broadcast History series, separate sessions on promotions, multi-platform content creation, and key revenue opportunities, as well as Radio-centric dashboard sessions.

The Leadership Breakfast showcased Lt. Col. Russell Clark with the Texas Army National Guard, 13 stations honored for public service, and an enlightening conversation with Rep. Todd Hunter, chair of the powerful House State Affairs Committee, who talked with then-Vice Chair Amy Villarreal about the infrastructure investments and policy challenges advanced by the Texas Legislature.

The closing night Awards Gala honored D’Artagnan Bebel, KRIV-KTXH-TV Houston, as Pioneer of the Year and Amy Villarreal, KEYE-TV Austin, as Broadcaster of the Year, while Tim Winn of KFDA-TV Amarillo received the George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence and Chip Arledge received the Jason Hightower Award for Broadcast Excellence.

New Location for 2024+

After six years of hosting the TAB Show, the JW Marriott could no longer accommodate the event on TAB’s preferred dates, so TAB announced the event is moving 23 miles north to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, starting Aug. 7-8, 2024.

The first-class convention facility will accommodate more conference partners, provide a better experience for exhibitors and delegates, and give family-minded delegates an option of having the spouses and/or kids join them through the week-end to enjoy Kalahari’s resort amenities located at the opposite end of the convention center.

The location will provide delegates a reprieve from Central Austin’s I-35 gridlock which will only get worse starting next year when the state begins rebuilding that section of the highway.

Board Election Results

Results of the 2023 TAB Board elections were announced at the Annual Business Meeting where Sen. Ted Cruz shared a pre-recorded message of encouragement on the Journalism Competition and Preservation Act and the AM for Every Vehicle Act, both of which he is helping to advance in Congress.

Radio directors elected include:

  • John Butler, KWJB AM-FM Canton & KMOO Mineola (re-elected)
  • Glenn Coleman, KOVE / KLAT / KAMA / KLTN / KQBU Houston 
  • Chuck Conrad, KZQX / KDOK Tyler - Longview
  • Bob Mackay, KAMX / KJCE / KKMJ Austin

TV directors elected include:

  • Lori Bruffett, KBTX-TV, Bryan - College Station 
  • Eric Lassberg, KXAN / KBVO-CA / KBVO / KNVA Austin 
  • Mike Lee, KYLE / KWKT, Bryan - College Station (re-elected)
  • Jeff Zimmerman, KDXX / KLNO / KFLC / KFZO / KESS Dallas - Fort Worth

Additional directors elected include:

  • Non-Commercial:  James Pickens, South Texas Public Radio San Antonio 
  • Associate:  Carey Martin, Texas Farm Bureau Network (re-elected)
  • Golden Mic Club:  Mary “Mike” Hatcher, Bryan Broadcasting (re-elected)
  • TABE: Brenda Jaskulske, Univ. of North Texas
  • Educators:  Brenda Jaskulske, University of North Texas

Slate of Officers elected includes:

  • Chair: Amy Villarreal, CBS Austin (Sinclair)
  • Vice Chair: John Moesch, West Texas Radio Odessa-Midland
  • Treasurer:  Luis Villarreal, KGNS-TV Laredo (Gray)
  • Secretary:  Brian Purdy, Audacy Dallas-Fort Worth
  • Past Chair:  Paul Gleiser, ATW Media LLC Tyler

Heard in the Halls:

  • “This is the best content I’ve seen at any conference this year.”
  • “I’ve been to a million conferences and never take notes, but I couldn’t write fast enough in that ‘Sansdemic’ session!”
  • “I’m not a note-taker but found myself filling up one pad and had to grab another one.”
  • “Mattress Mack was the best motivational speaker we’ve ever had.”
  • “A mini-NAB!”
  • “I write more business here than any other show.”

Questions? Contact TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News