

Texas Association of Broadcasters

502 E. 11th St., Suite 200, Austin, Texas 78701 Phone: (512) 322-9944 Fax: (512) 322-0522 www.tab.org

2013 Board of Directors – Election Schedule

- Friday, June 7 TAB emails roster of membership eligible for nomination
- Friday, June 21 Nominations Due
- Wednesday, June 26 TAB emails final ballots
- Friday, July 26 Final Ballots Due
- Thursday, Aug. 8 Election results announced at Annual Business Meeting

Nomination Process for Incoming Officers and Directors

(Regular) Station Members

TAB's bylaws direct the Chairman to chair and appoint a Nominating Committee. The committee is charged with recommending a slate of officers for the coming year to TAB members. Members vote on the slate of officers.

Traditionally, each officer advances to the next position, leaving the Treasurer's office vacant. The new officer typically alternates between Radio and TV. If this tradition continues, a Radio member would be recommended as Treasurer in 2013.

Station members vote to fill director vacancies in their respective market categories.

Associate Members

Associates and station members also are asked to nominate Associates to serve on the Board. One is elected jointly by station members and Associates. The second Associate is elected by the TAB Board.

Pioneer Members

Pioneer members are asked to nominate candidates to represent them on the Board. There is one seat allotted for this class of membership.

Non-Commercial Stations

Non-Commercial members are asked to nominate candidates to represent them on the Board. There is one seat allotted for this class of membership.

Members of the Texas Association of Broadcast Educators (TABE) select their representative to the Board at an annual meeting typically held in conjunction with the TAB Annual Convention.

Group Representation Limits

TAB bylaws prohibit groups from having more than five Directors on the Board, including no more than two offices and no more than two seats per market category. Below is a current status report on groups with more than one Board member.

- Tribune = 2 (1 director's term extends beyond 2013, 1 officer to advance)
- Cox = 2 (1 director's term extends, 1 eligible for re-election)
- Bryan Broadcasting = 2 (1 term-limited, 1 officer to advance)
- Nexstar = 3 (1 term-limited, 1 term extends, 1 eligible for re-election)
- Belo = 2 (both eligible for re-election)
- CBS = 2 (1 term extends, 1 eligible for re-election)

Status of Current TAB Officers and Directors as of June 6, 2013

As officers, the following TAB members **ARE NOT ELIGIBLE** for nomination as directors:

Chairman Mary Mike Hatcher, WTAW/KNDE/KZNE/KWBC/KAGC Bryan-College Station

Vice Chairman Mike Lee, KXXV/KRHD-TV Waco-Temple-Bryan

Secretary Chris Paddie, KMHT Marshall Roger Bare, KIAH-TV Houston

Past Chairman Brian Jones, Nexstar Broadcasting Group

The following terms extend beyond 2013. They ARE NOT ELIGIBLE for nomination:

Market Category Name, Station(s), Market

Large Radio Mark Krieschen, KGLK/KHPT/KKBQ/KTHT Houston

Sarah Frazier, KILT/KIKK/KKHH/KLOL/KHMX

Medium Radio Evan Armstrong, KBGO/WACO/KWTX/KBRQ/KIIZ/KLFX

Chris Kiske, KORA/KTAM/KJXJ/KBXT/KAPN

Small Radio Jerry Hanszen, KGAS Carthage

Lee Parkinson, KYYK/KNET Palestine

Large TV Jerry Martin, KPRC-TV Houston

Joe Young, KDAF-TV Dallas-Fort Worth

Other TV John Kittleman, KRGV-TV Rio Grande Valley

Julie Pruett, KFDX/KJTL/KJBO-TV Wichita Falls

At-Large TV D'Artagnan Bebel, KRIV/KTXH-TV Houston

Tom Ehlmann, KXAS-TV Dallas-Fort Worth

The following directors have reached their term limits and are NOT ELIGIBLE for nomination.

Market Category Name, Station(s), Market

Medium Radio Ben Downs, WTAW/KNDE/KZNE/KWBC/KAGC Bryan-College Station

Large or At-Large TV Amy Villarreal, KEYE-TV Austin (Appointed)

The following terms expire in 2013. These directors **ARE ELIGIBLE** for nomination in the following categories:

Market Category Name, Station(s), Market

Large Radio Dan Lawrie, KCYY/KKYX/KTKX/KONO/KISS/KSMG San Antonio (Appointed)

Brian Purdy, KVIL/KMVK/KRLD/KLUV/KJKK Dallas-Fort Worth

Large or At-Large TV David Loving, KXLN/KFTH Houston (Appointed)

Patti C. Smith, KVUE-TV Austin (Now serving in a Large TV seat)

Other or At-Large TV Gayle Kiger, KCEN-TV Waco-Temple-Bryan (Now serving in Other Market TV seat)

Greg McAlister, KLBK/KAMC-TV Lubbock (Appointed)

Tom Stovall, KLST/KSAN-TV San Angelo (Now serving in At-Large TV seat)

Pioneer/Retired Mike Wenglar, KVUE-TV Austin

Non-Commercial Rod Zent, KAMU-TV/FM Bryan-College Station

TABE Tony DeMars, KETR/Texas A&M University-Commerce