Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Voting in Elections for…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Voting in Elections for 11 TAB Board Seats Underway

- Ballots Due July 26, Two Races Settled

Voting is underway for TAB’s Board of Directors elections with final ballots due no later than July 26. The elections determine who will represent in the coming year Radio and TV stations in various market sizes across the state, as well as educators, Associates and retired/pioneer members. The top two nominees in each race qualified for the ballot.

Ballot emails were sent to all member station GMs, Associates and Golden Mic Club members on June 28. To cast a vote, members just need to reply to that email no later than July 26. Only one vote may be cast per license or firm. If you can’t find yours, request a re-send.

Election results will be announced at TAB’s Annual Business Meeting during the 2021 TAB Show Aug. 3-4 at the JW Marriott in Downtown Austin.  The NAB’s incoming president and CEO, Curtis LeGeyt, will keynote that event.

Slate of Officers
Officers typically advance one seat each year, creating a vacancy in the Secretary seat. The slate of officers recommended by the Nominating Committee includes:

  • Chair – Mark Masepohl, Univision Media Houston
  • Vice Chair – Paul Gleiser, Gleiser Communications Tyler
  • Treasurer – Amy Villarreal, KEYE-TV Austin
  • Secretary – John Moesch, West Texas Radio Odessa-Midland
  • Past Chairman – Mark Krieschen, Cox Media Group Houston (retired)

Led by TAB Chair Mark Krieschen, the Nominating Committee was comprised of recent past TAB Chairs representing each station market category, including:

  • Large Market Radio – Sarah Frazier, Entercom Houston
  • Medium Market Radio – Mary Mike Hatcher, Bryan Broadcasting
  • Small Market Radio – Chris Paddie, KMHT AM-FM Marshall
  • Large Market TV – Roger Bare, KIAH-TV Houston (retired)
  • Other Market TV – Gayle Kiger, KCEN-TV Waco-Temple-Bryan

Open Seats, Two Decided
Two open seats were resolved in the nominations process. Robert Sarabia with KVDA-TV San Antonio won re-election to the Large Market TV seat, and David Abel with Cox Media Group San Antonio, won re-election to the Large Market Radio seat.

Contested races remaining include:
Medium Market Radio

  • Rodney Brown, Malkan Interactive Corpus Christi
  • Brad Moran, Ramar Communications Lubbock

Small Market Radio (4 Vying for 2 Seats)

  • Mason Benitez, Townsquare Media Victoria
  • Eric Kauffman, KBUS/KOYN/KPLT Paris
  • David Klement, KORQ/KABW Abilene
  • Christine Amato Scott, KVST Conroe

“Other” Market TV

  • Lori Bruffett, KBTX Bryan-College Station
  • Brent McClure, KFDA/KEYU-TV/KZBZ Amarillo

At-Large TV Seat

  • Ronnie Glover, KWES Odessa-Midland
  • Pat Stacey, KLTV Tyler

Retired/Pioneer (Golden Mic Club)

  • Mary Mike Hatcher, Bryan Broadcasting
  • Roger Bare

Associate Members

  • Amanda Fenske, comScore
  • Perry Priestley, Elenos/BE

About the TAB Board of Directors
The Board meets four times per year, typically in person at the TAB building in Austin. While meetings since March 2020 have been held electronically because of the pandemic, the Board resumes in-person meetings beginning in September. Committees usually meet electronically.

Board members are responsible for advising TAB staff on member services and legislative policy, providing fiduciary oversight for the organization and assisting with all major organizational efforts, including the NCSA/PEP program, membership recruitment and the Annual Convention.

Board members are not compensated or reimbursed for traveling to Board meetings, nor do they receive complimentary admission to TAB events.

View Current Officers and Directors

Questions regarding TAB Board Elections can be directed to TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or Beth Bobbitt.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News