Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > TAB members elect four…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

TAB members elect four new directors, re-elect three

 - Pruett takes reins as Chairman

Four new directors were elected to the TAB Board and three more were re-elected upon the conclusion of a 60-day process in which all members were asked to select their representatives to the 37 member panel on which seats are allocated based on market size and medium. Election results were announced at the Annual Business Meeting on Aug. 10 during TAB’s Annual Convention.

New executive officers also were elected, with Julie Pruett of Nexstar Media Group slated to serve as Chairman for 2017-18. Pruett is just the seventh woman to serve in the top spot. The remaining executive officers elected include:

  • Vice Chairman – Sarah Frazier, CBS Radio Houston
  • Treasurer – Gayle Kiger, KCEN-TV Temple
  • Secretary – Mark Krieschen, Cox Media Group Houston
  • Past Chairman – Ben Downs, Bryan Broadcasting

Each officer serves one year and is eligible for consideration to advance to the next office with the membership’s approval.

Election results for the directors’ seats representing commercial stations include:

  • Large Market Radio – Brian Purdy, CBS Radio Dallas-Fort Worth
  • Medium Market Radio, Place 1 – Rodney Brown, Malkan Interactive Corpus Christi
  • Medium Market Radio, Place 4 – Paul Gleiser, KTBB/KYZS/KRWR Tyler-Longview
  • Small Market Radio – Steve Everett, KHVL/KSAM/K28GE Huntsville
  • Large Market TV – Chris Morris, Univision Media San Antonio
  • Other Market TV – Wayne Reed, KFDX/KJTL/KJBO Wichita Falls
  • At-Large TV Seat – Henry Florsheim, KTRK Houston

At least one seat in each commercial station category comes up for election each year. No director may serve more than six consecutive years, unless they were first elected by the Board to fill a vacancy that occurred between regular elections. 

The following newly elected directors will serve one-year terms:

  • Non-Commercial – Jerrod Knight, KETR-FM Commerce
  • Students/Educators – Billy Alonzo, South Plains College
  • Associates – Dirk Johnston, NBC-Universal Domestic Television Distribution
  • Retired-Pioneer/Golden Mic Club – Mike Wenglar

TAB’s Board of Directors meets four times each year in Austin. Board members are responsible for advising TAB staff on member services and legislative policy, providing fiduciary oversight for the organization and assisting with all major organizational efforts, including the NCSA program and membership recruitment.

Board members are not compensated or reimbursed for traveling to Board meetings, nor do they receive complimentary admission to TAB events.

Planning for the 2018 fiscal year begins in earnest Sept. 11, and members are invited to contact Board members or TAB staff with suggestions for the coming year.

Bare, three others step off
Roger Bare, most recently of KIAH-TV Houston, stepped off the Board after serving 11 continuous years, six as a director and five on the Executive Committee.

Throughout his tenure Bare championed TAB’s key legislative initiatives, joined TAB delegations to meet with members of Congress, and provided invaluable leadership on the Convention, Legislative and NCSA/PEP committees.

Exiting because of TAB’s six-year term limit were Evan Armstrong, iHeart Media Waco; Jerry Hanszen, KGAS Carthage; and David Loving, Univision Media Houston.

Throughout his terms, Armstrong was the chief iHeart Media liaison to TAB, served on several key committees, and remains a strong supporter of the all-important NCSA/PEP program.

Hanszen was TAB’s 2002 Broadcaster of the Year, served as Chairman of the Board in 1998, and was a long-serving member of TAB’s Legislative and Convention committees. He also was a key contributor to TAB’s advocacy efforts before lawmakers.

Loving co-chaired the Convention Planning Committee for many years, helping to elevate the content and overall event experience to the point that it is now one of the most respected industry events in the country. He remains deeply engaged as a leading advocate for Texas broadcasters before lawmakers in Austin and Washington, DC.

Questions? Contact TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News