Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > TAB members elect five…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

TAB members elect five new directors, re-elect six

 - Downs ascends to TAB Chairman as Paddie, others step off

Five new directors were elected to the TAB Board and six more were re-elected at the end of a 60 day process in which all members were asked to select their representatives to the 37 member panel wherein seats are allocated to market size and medium. Election results were announced at the Annual Business Meeting on Aug. 11 during TAB’s Annual Convention.

New executive officers also were elected, with Ben Downs of Bryan Broadcasting slated to serve as Chairman for 2016-17. Downs is the first to be elected to two non-consecutive terms as Chairman. The remaining executive officers elected include:

  • Vice Chairman – Julie Pruett, Nexstar Broadcasting Group
  • Treasurer – Sarah Frazier, CBS Radio Houston
  • Secretary – Gayle Kiger, KCEN-TV Temple
  • Past Chairman – Roger Bare, KIAH-TV Houston

Each officer serves one year and is eligible for consideration to advance to the next office with the membership’s approval.

Election results for the directors’ seats representing commercial stations include:

  • Large Market Radio – Danny Lowry, Univision Austin; John Barger, KAHL/KMFR San Antonio
  • Medium Market Radio – Chris Fleming, Ramar Communications Lubbock
  • Small Market Radio – Mike Koenig, KRBA/KYBI/KSML/KZXL Lufkin-Nacogdoches; Dan Balla, KWFB/KXXN/KXPN Wichita Falls
  • Large Market TV – Eric Lassberg, KXAN/KBVO/KNVA Austin
  • Other Market TV – Eric Thomas, KLBK/KAMC Lubbock
  • At-Large TV Seat – Gary Schneider, KTVT/KTXA Dallas-Fort Worth

One seat in each commercial station category comes up for election each year. No director may serve more than six consecutive years, unless they were first elected by the Board to fill a vacancy that occurred between regular elections. 

The following newly elected directors will serve one-year terms:

  • Non-Commercial – Jerrod Knight, KETR-FM Commerce
  • Associates – Dan Giesler, Giesler Broadcast Supply
  • Golden Mic Club – Mike Wenglar

TAB’s Board of Directors meets four times each year in Austin. Board members are responsible for advising TAB staff on member services and legislative policy, providing fiduciary oversight for the organization and assisting with all major organizational efforts, including the NCSA program and membership recruitment.

Board members are not compensated or reimbursed for traveling to Board meetings, nor do they receive complimentary admission to TAB events.

Planning for the 2017 fiscal year begins in earnest Sept. 1, and members are invited to contact Board members or TAB staff with suggestions for the coming year.

Paddie, four others step off

Chris Paddie of KMHT Marshall stepped off the Board after serving 11 continuous years, six as a director and five on the Executive Committee.

Throughout his tenure Paddie championed TAB’s key legislative initiatives, joined TAB delegations to meet with members of Congress, and provided invaluable leadership on the Convention, Legislative and Membership committees.

Elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 2012, Paddie has the distinction of being the only TAB Chairman to have served simultaneously in the House.

Exiting because of TAB’s six-year term limit were Brian Purdy, CBS Radio Dallas-Fort Worth; Patti C. Smith, KVUE-TV Austin (Retired); and Tony DeMars, Texas A&M Commerce.

Throughout his terms, Purdy was the primary Radio champion in the DFW market of TAB’s legislative efforts in Austin and Washington, DC, and also took a lead role in planning multiple TAB Conventions and member service offerings.

Smith was TAB’s 2004 Broadcaster of the Year, served as Chairman of the Board in 2006, and was a long-serving member of TAB’s Awards, Legislative and Convention committees. She also was a key contributor to TAB’s advocacy efforts before lawmakers.

DeMars, an educator at Texas A&M University-Commerce had served six years as representative of the Texas Association of Broadcast Educators.

Lance Parr, GM of non-commercial KEOS-FM Bryan-College Station and owner of Lanco Technical Services, a broadcast consultancy, served a one-year term representing Associate Members on the Board.  He continues to serve on TAB’s Convention Planning and Emergency Communications committees.

Questions? Contact TAB's Oscar Rodriguez or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News