Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > TAB Board Elections…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

TAB Board Elections Underway, Voting Ends July 23

Final ballots for TAB’s 2018 Board elections were emailed to members June 25, with voting slated to end at Midnight, July 23. After a nominations window during the first two weeks of June, three TV seats are up for grabs and a new slate of officers is being presented for approval, while candidates for five Radio seats are running uncontested.

Contests also are underway for seats representing Associate members and Retired/Pioneer members which are known as the Golden Mic Club. Results will be announced at the 2018 TAB Show Aug. 1-2 at the JW Marriott in Downtown Austin.

All members vote on the slate of officers and the Associate seat, but only members of each respective market category may cast votes in those races.

Slate of Officers
The slate listed below, proposes advancing current officers one seat and filling the office of Secretary:

  • Chair – Sarah Frazier, Entercom Houston
  • Vice Chair – Gayle Kiger, KCEN-TV Waco
  • Treasurer – Mark Krieschen, Cox Media Group Houston
  • Secretary – Mark Masepohl, Univision Dallas-Fort Worth
  • Past Chair – Julie Pruett, Nexstar Broadcast Group

TV Large Market
This seat came open because Jerry Martin of KPRC-TV Houston is completing the limit of two consecutive three-year terms.  Candidates include:

  • Phil Lane, KSAT-TV San Antonio
  • David Loving, Univision Houston

TV Other Market
Comprising markets smaller than the four largest in Texas, candidates for this seat include:

  • Dan Jackson, KCBD-TV Lubbock
  • Luis Villarreal, KGNS-TV Laredo

TV At-Large Seat
This seat came open with Mark Masepohl’s nomination to advance to the office of Secretary. All TV members get to vote on this seat, with candidates including:

  • Brent McClure, KFDA-TV Amarillo
  • Brad Moran, Ramar Communications Lubbock

Associate Seat
Representing Associate members, there’s a three-way race for this seat with candidates including:

  • Dirk Johnston, NBC Universal TV Distribution
  • Steve Orr, Disney-ABC Home Entertainment & Television
  • Stan Wagnon, Lubbock Audio-Visual

Retired/Pioneer (Golden Mic Club)
This class of membership is open to all Texas broadcasters with 25 or more years of experience in the industry. Candidates include:

  • Roger Allen, Cox Media Group San Antonio
  • John Butler, KWJB-AM/FM Canton
  • Mike Wenglar, KULP El Campo

Radio Directors
The Radio electoral field was supremely calm with Large and Medium Market Radio directors coasting to re-election uncontested and with candidates for two different Small Market Radio seats staving off any challengers. Results include:

  • Large Market Place 2 – Ben Reed, Cox Media Group San Antonio
  • Large Market Place 3 – Christine Escobar, Univision Austin
  • Medium Market Place 2 – John Moesch, KQRX/KHKX/KMCM Midland/Odessa
  • Small Market Place 1 – Ronnie Glover, Townsquare Media Victoria
  • Small Market Place 4 – Rex Tackett, KXYL-AM/KQBZ-FM Brownwood & KSTA-AM/KXYL-FM Coleman

TAB Board of Directors
Including officers, the TAB Board has 37 members with seats filled according to broadcast medium and market size or membership class. The Board meets quarterly in Austin and is charged with advising TAB staff on member services and legislative policy, providing fiduciary oversight for the organization and assisting with all major organizational efforts.

Board members are not compensated or reimbursed for traveling to Board meetings, nor do they receive complimentary admission to TAB events.

Questions regarding TAB Board Elections can be directed to TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or Beth Bobbitt.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News