Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > TAB Board elections…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

TAB Board elections underway

 - Slate of officers, candidates for 11 seats on ballot

Elections to fill 11 seats on TAB’s Board of Directors are underway with voting slated to conclude on Monday, Aug. 1. Results will be announced at the Business Meeting during TAB’s Annual Convention Aug. 10-11 in Austin.

Ballots were emailed to TAB members on June 27 with instructions for casting votes for directors in their membership categories, the slate of officers, and an Associate Member representative. Members must respond to that email in order to cast votes and will receive a confirmation when their votes have been received and recorded.

TAB’s volunteer Board is comprised of 37 members representing commercial TV and Radio stations in various market sizes, non-commercial stations, Associate Members, the Golden Mic Club and the Texas Association of Broadcast Educators. Board members advise the TAB staff on member services and legislative policy, provide fiduciary oversight for the organization and assist with all major organizational efforts, including the NCSA program and membership recruitment.

Directors are not compensated or reimbursed for traveling to Board meetings, nor do they receive complimentary admission to TAB events.

Candidates were nominated by their counterparts in a process that began in early June, with the top two nominees qualifying for the final ballot – more in the case of ties.  Director Candidates

Proposed 2016-17 Officers

The slate of officers was recommended by TAB’s Nominating Committee as required under the bylaws.  The committee, comprised of broadcasters representing each market category and who have served as TAB Chairman, included Roger Bare (TV Large Market), Mike Lee (TV Other Market), John Barger, (Radio Large Market), Mary Mike Hatcher (Radio Medium Market) and Chris Paddie (Radio Small Market).

With Chairman Roger Bare presiding, the committee met June 21 and unanimously recommended the following slate for consideration:

  • Chairman – Ben Downs, Bryan Broadcasting
  • Vice Chairman – Julie Pruett, Nexstar Broadcasting Group
  • Treasurer – Sarah Frazier, CBS Radio Houston
  • Secretary – Gayle Kiger, KCEN-TV Waco-Temple-Bryan

Outgoing Board Members

Chris Paddie of KMHT AM/FM in Marshall – also a State Representative – is leaving the Board after serving 11 consecutive years on the Board, the last five as an officer.

Several other long-serving directors are stepping off the Board after serving six consecutive years, the term limit for directors established in the bylaws.

Directors leaving the Board include:

  • Brian Purdy, CBS Radio Dallas-Fort Worth (Radio Large Market)
  • Patti C. Smith, KVUE-TV Austin (TV Large Market)
  • Gayle Kiger, KCEN-TV Waco-Temple-Bryan (TV Other Market, Nominated as incoming Secretary)
  • Tony DeMars, Texas A&M Commerce (Texas Association of Broadcast Educators)

Each will be recognized for their leadership and dedication at the Business Meeting during the Convention after serving in various capacities on key committees focusing on legislative policy, member services, Convention planning, the NCSA program, emergency communications, leadership awards and other major efforts.

Attend TAB Convention

Questions? Contact TAB's Oscar Rodriguez or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News