Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > TAB Board Elections Bring…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

TAB Board Elections Bring New Officers, Directors

- Downs Recognized for Record-Setting Leadership

This summer’s TAB Board elections yielded a new slate of officers and a handful of new Radio and TV directors which were announced at the Annual Business Meeting Aug. 2 at the 2018 TAB Show. They round out a panel of 37 Texas broadcasters elected by the membership who provide fiduciary and Sarah Frazier, Ben & Lillie Downs, Oscar Rodriguez; Photo Credit: Lacey Seymour Photographyprogrammatic oversight for the organization.

New TAB Board Chair Sarah Frazier, Entercom Houston, also paid tribute to outgoing Past Chairman Ben Downs of Bryan Broadcasting, the only person to serve two full terms as TAB Board chairman who was also concluding a total of 18 years as either a director or an officer, with just one year’s break since first being elected in 1999.

“There’s not a single TAB program, service or legislative initiative during the past 19 years that Ben hasn’t been deeply involved in,” Frazier said to a standing ovation.

“He’s an advocate of the top order. He took an early lead with TAB on AM revitalization, played a key role in developing the State EAS Plan, was a key witness for our successful efforts to protect against record label shenanigans at the state level and secure a sales tax exemption for Radio stations’ digital transmission equipment.

Noting that Downs “works at a level far above most of us on the Board,” Frazier reflected on his close working relationships with FCC commissioners and bureau chiefs, as well as his members of Congress and the Texas Legislature.

“A perfect example is how Congressman Flores in his district was able to work with Ben to make sure that the $1 billion boost to the Spectrum Repack Fund included FM stations and translators.”

Downs, accompanied as usual by his wife and “advisor” Lillie, was honored as TAB’s Broadcaster of the Year in 2010, and served on the NAB Radio Board from 2008 to 2014.

Martin, Balla, Roberts Exit

Also exiting the Board was Jerry Martin of KPRC-TV in Houston who was term-limited after serving two consecutive three-year terms. Martin was lauded for his leadership on the Legislative Policy Committee which he chaired for the last two years, as well as several stints on the PEP and Convention Planning Committees.

Two Small Market Radio directors, Dan Balla of KWFB/KXXN/KXPN Wichita Falls, and Ken Roberts of KBEC Waxahachie, chose not to run for re-election after completing their first two- and three-year terms, respectively. 

Election Results

Board seats are allocated according to TV and Radio market size, with at least one seat in each category coming up for election each year. Five officers advance one position each year with TV and Radio alternating in the new open seat, all subject to the membership’s approval. 

This year’s results are listed below. The 2019 election process begins in early June.

Slate of Officers

  • Chairman – Sarah Frazier, Entercom Houston
  • Vice Chairman – Gayle Kiger, KCEN-TV Waco-Temple-Bryan
  • Treasurer – Mark Krieschen, Cox Media Group Houston
  • Secretary – Mark Masepohl, Univision Dallas-Fort Worth
  • Past Chairman – Julie Pruett, Nexstar Broadcasting Group

Small Market Radio

  • Ronnie Glover, Townsquare Media Victoria (Newly Elected)
  • Rex Tackett, KQBZ/KSTA/KXYL Brownwood-Coleman (Newly Elected)

Medium Market Radio – John Moesch, KZRX/KHKX/KMCM Odessa-Midland

Large Market Radio

  • Christine Escobar, Univision Austin
  • Ben Reed, Cox Media Group San Antonio

At-Large TV Seat – Brad Moran, Ramar Communications Lubbock (Newly Elected)

Other Market TV – Dan Jackson, KCBD Lubbock

Large Market TV – David Loving, Univision Houston (Newly Elected)

Associate – Dirk Johnston, NBC Universal Domestic Television

Retired/Pioneer (Golden Mic) – Mike Wenglar, KULP El Campo

Non-Commercial – Jerrod Knight, KETR-FM Commerce

Educator – Billy Alonzo, South Plains College

Questions? Contact TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News