Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > TAB to award achievements…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

TAB to award achievements of five exceptional broadcasters

Texas Broadcasters will honor five exceptional industry leaders at TAB’s Annual Awards Gala.

The gala, part of #TAB2017, is set for Thursday, Aug. 10 from 6:30-10 pm at the Renaissance Austin Hotel.

"Texas broadcasters have a long tradition of advancing their local communities and businesses, and we can all be especially proud of the leadership that this year's honorees have demonstrated throughout their careers,” said TAB President Oscar Rodriguez.

"They have helped shape 21st Century Texas by practicing lifesaving journalism, holding public officials accountable, inspiring future leaders and enhancing the technology infrastructure that undergirds all that Radio and TV stations do.  Each has earned the respect and admiration of legions of fellow broadcasters, community leaders and everyday Texans.

"It is a distinct honor and privilege to know them and to have an opportunity to recognize their extraordinary contributions to the industry and all of Texas,” Rodriguez said.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Wendell Mayes, Jr.Wendell Mayes, Jr.

Born 93 years ago on March 2nd – Texas Independence Day –  the son of a Texas Radio broadcaster and grandson of the Texas Lt. Governor who founded UT-Austin’s journalism school, Wendell Mayes, Jr., appears in hindsight to have been destined to become a Texas broadcast pioneer.

Mayes and his family-owned radio stations in Austin, Brownwood, Fort Worth, Midland, Snyder, Victoria, the Rio Grande Valley and Oklahoma City for 50 years. He also had cable interests in Hereford, Corsicana and Snyder in Texas, and Pauls Valley and Choctaw in Oklahoma.

Broadcasters will salute Mayes for his decades as a Radio broadcaster in communities throughout the state, as well as his philanthropist endeavors and never-ending pursuit of learning.

Pioneer of the Year – Bob White, Corpus ChristiBob White

From on-air, to news, engineering and management, Bob White has been an integral part of the Texas broadcast industry for nearly 60 years. He got his start in broadcasting in 1958 at WTAW-AM Bryan College Station but his career took him to many Radio and Television stations in Dallas-Fort Worth, Houston, Beaumont and Corpus Christi.

White served several terms on the TAB Board of Directors and his fellow broadcasters elected him Chairman in 1980. Now retired, White still provides consulting services to several Texas stations and continues to give back to his local community.

Broadcaster of the Year – Brian Purdy, CBS Radio Dallas-Fort WorthBrian Purdy

With nearly 40 years in broadcasting, Brian Purdy has always been focused on effective, strategic leadership. He has been with the CBS Radio stations in Dallas-Fort Worth since 2004, serving as Senior Vice President/Market Manager since 2009.

Under his leadership, the CBS Radio stations in DFW enjoyed one of their best years ever in 2016, in terms of ratings growth and community service. Revenues increased, but more importantly - his stations raised more than $1.26 million during their "Christmas for Children" Radiothon.

Throughout his career and his many terms on the TAB Board of Directors, Purdy has been an active leader on the legislative front, never forgetting the true goal of serving his local community.

George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence – Errol Coker, KHCB Radio NetworkErrol Coker

Texas broadcast engineer Errol Coker has worked at many AM and FM facilities in his 60+ years of being in the industry and he has done it all - engineering, on-air work and management. Much like George Marti, Coker's long career has always been centered on the quality, integrity and betterment of the art and science of Radio.

Coker has spent the last 12 years working for Bruce Munsterman and helping build the KHCB-FM Radio Network. The network now consists of 43 radio stations serving Texas, Louisiana and Oklahoma, as well as two in Florida.

Associate of the Year – Dan Sessler, RF SpecialtiesDan Sessler

TAB's Annual Convention & Trade Show has become the largest state broadcast association event in the nation. None of this would be possible without support from Associate Members like Dan Sessler, president and general manager of RF Specialties of Texas.

Sessler has more than 40 years of broadcast industry experience – in both technology and sales. The RF Specialties Group has been a TAB Silver Star Associate Member since 1989 and they've participated in the Convention for more nearly 30 years.

Contact TAB’s Beth Bobbitt for information on purchasing tickets to the event.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News