Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Roy Spence, CBS’ Lara…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Roy Spence, CBS’ Lara Logan book-end TAB Convention

 - Sales, tech, management leaders drive Aug. 10-11 agenda

Famed GSD&M ad man Roy Spence opens this year’s TAB Convention with a stirring and insightful approach to entrepreneurship, his purpose-driven, “Don’t Do Mild” mantra in work and life – follow your dreams, follow your passion, and follow your purpose. Spence’s thought-provoking opener will be matched on every front by CBS’ Lara Logan who keynotes the closing Awards Gala with accounts of her reporting on the front lines of America’s Middle East entanglements.

Spence and Logan will be joined by more than 1,300 broadcasters, including station owners, GMs, engineers and sales executives, who converge on Austin Aug. 10-11 for the largest state or regional broadcast convention and trade show in the country.

The TAB show – known widely as a “mini-NAB” – showcases 103 leading industry vendors and more than 40 sales, management and engineering experts and innovators over a day and a half.

The aggressive, business-centric agenda dissects the evolving technology landscape for Radio and TV stations, trends shaping key advertisers’ spending plans, regulatory concerns influencing broadcasters’ operational blueprints, and marketing and management strategies to help sales teams grow revenue.

Experts on-hand represent a “Who’s Who” of industry leaders – GSD&M co-founder Roy Spence, media strategist Fred Jacobs, NextRadio visionary Paul Brenner, digital media guru Michael Pettiette, and sales and management specialists Kelly Wirges, Brandeis Hall, Paul Weyland and Brad Deutser.

The NAB’s Rick Kaplan and DC legal eagles Scott Flick, David Oxenford and Gregg Skall cover everything from major policy battles within the FCC to copyright law, music royalties, AM revitalization and regulatory compliance.

Technology leaders Kevin Gage, Jay Adrick and Wayne Pecena are joined by FCC, FEMA and PBS experts, as well as consultants and engineers from stations throughout the state. Together, they’ll take deep dives into IP standards and troubleshooting, the spectrum repack, ATSC 3.0, cybersecurity, emergency alerting and preparedness, tower safety and HDR technology.

Texas Congressman Michael McCaul, chairman of the House Committee on Homeland Security, will share his insight into international terrorism and domestic security concerns in a keynote breakfast at the Community Service Awards Breakfast with TAB Vice Chairman Ben Downs of Bryan Broadcasting. McCaul, a Republican whose district stretches from Austin to Houston, co-authored the IPAWS emergency alerting legislation signed into law by President Obama this spring.

ABC News’ chief political analyst Matthew Dowd will share his insights into political journalism during this unprecedented Presidential election season, and CBS News’ Lara Logan will keynote the Annual Awards Gala where five Texas broadcasters will be presented the industry’s top honors.

Bill Buchanan, owner of KSHN-FM Liberty, will be inducted as Pioneer of the Year, while John Kittleman, President & General Manager of KRGV-TV in the Rio Grande Valley will be honored as Broadcaster of the Year.

The George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence will be presented to Mike Wenglar, owner of KULP-AM El Campo and longtime engineer for KVUE-TV Austin.

Dan Giesler with Giesler Broadcasting Supply will be honored as TAB’s Associate of the Year.  Stephen F. Austin University’s Dr. Joe Oliver will be presented the Educator of the Year Award.


« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News