Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Nominations for TAB…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Nominations for TAB Leadership Awards Due April 1

- Texas Broadcasting’s Highest Honors

Nominations for the Texas broadcast industry’s highest honors are due April 1.

The awards will cap off the 2022 TAB Show Aug. 3-4 at the JW Marriott in downtown Austin.

Honors include the long-established Pioneer, Broadcaster and Associate of the Year awards, as well as two Jason Hightower Awards for Broadcast Excellence, the George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence and the Steve Pieringer Award for Outstanding Valor in News Coverage.

The Hightower Awards recognize individuals in Radio and Television with at least 10 years’ experience in the broadcast industry who demonstrate a proficiency for enterprise and innovation in a member station’s service to their audience, advertisers and community.

The top three nominees in each category will receive a complimentary registration to the TAB Show, along with two complimentary hotel room nights. The winners will be announced onsite.

Owners, managers and employees of TAB member stations are eligible to submit entries for nearly every available honor. Nominations should include substantive statements of personal and professional character, achievements and leadership worthy of recognition.

Awards Nomination Info

2021 Honorees

Small market Radio legend Mark Grubbs of the Ranch Radio Group in Kerrville nabbed the Pioneer Broadcaster of the Year Award last year, while Marty Wind of non-commercial powerhouse KLUX-FM Corpus Christi was named Broadcaster of the Year.

Norm Philips, a beloved Radio engineer known to stations across the state, was honored with the George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence.

The inaugural Jason Hightower Award for Broadcast Excellence resulted in a three-way tie, with honors going to Melissa Rivera, Townsquare Media Victoria; Joe Ellis, KVUE-TV Austin; and Josh Gorbutt, KBTX-TV Bryan-College Station.

View Past Honorees

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News