Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Just Days Left to Cast…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Just Days Left to Cast Votes in TAB Board Elections

- Ballots Due No Later than July 10

Voting in TAB’s Board of Directors elections ends at Midnight on Friday, July 10. The elections determine who will represent Radio and TV stations in various market sizes across the state, as well as educators and Associate and retired members, in the coming year. The top two nominees in each race qualified for the ballot.

Ballot emails were sent to all member station GMs on June 18 and re-sent July 6 to those who had not yet cast their ballots. To cast a vote, members just need to reply to either ballot email no later than July 10. Only one vote may be cast per station. If you can’t find yours, request a re-send.

Election results will be announced July 30 at TAB’s Annual Business Meeting which will be held virtually. Details will be announced soon.

Slate of Officers
Officers typically advance one seat each year, creating a vacancy in the Secretary seat. The slate of officers recommended by the Nominating Committee includes:

  • Chair – Mark Krieschen, Cox Media Group Houston
  • Vice Chair – Mark Masepohl, Univision Media Houston
  • Treasurer – Paul Gleiser, Gleiser Communications Tyler
  • Secretary – Amy Villarreal, KEYE-TV Austin
  • Past Chairman – Gayle Kiger, KCEN-TV Temple

Led by TAB Chair Gayle Kiger, the Nominating Committee was comprised of recent past TAB Chairs representing each station market category, including:

  • Large Market Radio – Sarah Frazier, Entercom Houston
  • Medium Market Radio – Ben Downs, Bryan Broadcasting
  • Small Market Radio – Chris Paddie, KMHT AM-FM Marshall
  • Large Market TV – Roger Bare, formerly of KIAH-TV Houston
  • Other Market TV – Julie Pruett, Nexstar Broadcasting Group

Open Seats, Some Decided
Three open seats were resolved in the nominations process. John Hannon with Univision Media in Houston won the Large Market TV seat, and Jerrod Knight with KETR-FM Commerce won the non-commercial seat. Tony DeMars, professor at Texas A&M University-Commerce and director of the Radio/TV Department there was selected to represent educators and students.

Contested races remaining include:
Large Market Radio
Chris Morris, Univision Media San Antonio
Brian Purdy, Entercom Dallas-Fort Worth

Medium Market Radio
Steve Everett, M&M Broadcasters Waco
Scott Wiggins, ICA Radio Corpus Christi

Small Market Radio
John Butler, KWJB AM-FM Canton
Brian Sines, Townsquare Media Texarkana

“Other” Market TV
Ward Huey, KETK/KFXK/KTPN Tyler-Longview
Mike Lee, KYLE/KWKT Bryan-College Station

At-Large TV Seat
Cindy Gilstrap, KLBK/KAMC Lubbock
Carolyn Mungo, WFAA Dallas-Fort Worth

Retired/Pioneer (Golden Mic Club)
Mary Mike Hatcher, Bryan Broadcasting
Mike Wenglar, KULP-AM El Campo

Associate Members
Dan Giesler, GBS
Perry Priestley, Elenos/BE

About the TAB Board of Directors
The Board meets four times per year, typically in person at the TAB building in Austin though 2020’s meetings have been held electronically because of the pandemic. Committees usually meet electronically.

Board members are responsible for advising TAB staff on member services and legislative policy, providing fiduciary oversight for the organization and assisting with all major organizational efforts, including the NCSA/PEP program, membership recruitment and the Annual Convention.

Board members are not compensated or reimbursed for traveling to Board meetings, nor do they receive complimentary admission to TAB events.

View Current Officers and Directors

Questions regarding TAB Board Elections can be directed to TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or Beth Bobbitt.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News