Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Get Your Work Recognized:…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Get Your Work Recognized: Enter TMA’s Anson Jones, MD, Awards

Wanted: Texas broadcast journalists’ top health and medical news stories of 2016. Discover how your work measures up to your peers in the Texas Medical Association Anson Jones, MD, Awards. It’s free — and easy — to enter.

The contest, now in its 60th year, recognizes general-interest journalists in 12 award categories tailored for radio, television, and print journalists by market size and broadcast length. And if you have a body of great work from 2016, you can enter the Texas Health Journalist of the Year category.

Any work broadcast in 2016 is eligible. You can win prize money ranging from $500 to $1,000. Entries are due Jan. 10, 2017.

Don’t be shy; you can enter multiple times. Typically our award inbox is filled with entries from print media outlets around the state. TMA would like to see more broadcast entries, especially those from smaller markets. Enter today using TMA’s online entry form.

TMA has honored award-winning Texas journalists with the Anson Jones, MD, Awards for excellence in medical news reporting since 1957. TMA physicians and members of TMA’s Council on Health Promotion judge the competition, along with respected former journalists from the news publishing and broadcast fields.

If you have questions, email or call Tammy Wishard, TMA outreach coordinator, at (512) 370-1470.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News