Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Culberson renews…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Culberson renews opposition to Performance Tax

Congressman John Culberson, R-Houston, last week renewed his opposition to forcing local Radio stations to pay a new performance royalty or “tax” as proposed in two separate bills by a New York Democrat and California Republican.

Culberson weighed in on the issue by renewing his co-sponsorship of The Local Radio Freedom Act, HConRes 13, co-authored by two fellow Texans – Reps. Mike Conaway, R-Midland, and Gene Green, D-Houston.

This addition brings to 19 the number of Texas lawmakers who have signed onto the measure. Two other congressmen who have co-sponsored in the past but have not yet renewed are listed below. Radio GMs in these lawmakers’ communities are encouraged to weigh in directly with the lawmaker or staff and ask for their support:

  • Rep. Will Hurd, R-San Antonio – Telecom Aide: Austin Agrella
  • Rep. Roger Williams, R-Weatherford – Telecom Aide: Sean Dillon

The NAB’s background paper on this issue is helpful in preparing to address the issue with lawmakers or staff.

While Texas continues to lead the country in the number of resolution co-sponsors, the effort is still 37 signatures short of the 218 majority needed to stop a performance royalty this session.

Broadcasters are optimistic about reaching the needed majority and NAB notes that the number of co-sponsors for this session’s resolution is pacing ahead of past efforts, all of which succeeded in averting the RIAA’s long-running effort to secure a new revenue stream for their member labels in Europe and Japan.

Questions? Contact TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News