Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Chairman's Reception…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Chairman's Reception & Awards Gala

...and the winner is...

The Texas Association of Broadcasters will honor five broadcast leaders at TAB?s Annual Awards Gala.

The gala, part of the association?s 57th Annual Convention & Trade Show, is set for Thursday, Aug. 12 from 7-10 pm at the Renaissance Austin Hotel (9721 Arboretum Blvd., Austin, 78759).

Pioneer of the Year ? William J. ?Bill? Carter, Sage Broadcasting (retired)

When he officially retired in 2009, Bill Carter celebrated 60 years in Texas broadcasting. Starting at KPAC radio in Port Arthur when he was 17 years old, Carter went on to work at, manage or own stations everywhere from Jacksonville to Corpus Christi, from Austin to San Antonio, from San Angelo to Laredo. In 1984, he signed KIDY-TV on the air in San Angelo and later established stations in Abilene: KXVA/KIDZ-TV.

Broadcaster of the Year ? Ben Downs, Bryan Broadcasting

Downs has spent more than three quarters of his life in broadcasting, including more than 20 years as general manager of the Bryan Broadcasting radio stations. Always looking to the future, he is an early adopter of new broadcast technology: online streaming, wireless streaming and HD Radio. He served as TAB Chairman in 2003 and his peers re-elected him to the TAB Board of Directors in 2007. Downs also has served on the NAB Radio Board since June 2008.  He is a tireless advocate for broadcasters before lawmakers and regulators.

Associate of the Year ? Dirk Johnston, NBC-Universal

The award honors a representative of a TAB Associate Member firm who helps broadcasters further the industry?s goals. As a former station manager in Sherman, Dirk Johnston has seen the business from both sides. For more than 15 years, has earned the respect of many Texas television broadcasters by providing quality programming opportunities.

Educator of the Year ? Dr. Ed Glick, University of North Texas

Since 1959, Dr. Glick has been teaching at major universities across the nation and helping mold the future of the broadcast industry. When he came to the University of North Texas, he initiated a major overhaul of the division?s curriculum, which helped the Department of Radio, Television and Film to grow and earn its current reputation as one of the highest rated programs of its kind in the United States.

Lifetime Achievement Award ? George Marti, Marti Enterprises

George Marti, founder of Marti Electronics, is a legend in Texas broadcasting. In the business since the mid 1930s, Marti has owned and operated many Texas radio stations. He is perhaps most well-known for manufacturing Marti Remote Pickup and Studio Transmitter Link equipment. The equipment can be found in more than 80 percent of radio stations worldwide. His Marti Foundation has funded full college scholarships for more than 200 Johnson County graduates ? many of whom are the first in their families to attend college.

Registration: a ticket to the gala is included in each Full Registration package

Download Registration Form Download registration form

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News