Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Broadcasters to honor…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Broadcasters to honor four industry leaders

TAB will honor four broadcast leaders at TAB's Annual Awards Gala.

The gala, a part of TAB's 54th Annual Convention & Trade Show, is set for Thursday, Aug. 9 from 8-10 p.m. at the Renaissance Austin Hotel (9721 Arboretum Boulevard, Austin, Texas 78759).

Pioneer Broadcaster of the Year
Lady Bird JohnsonClaudia Alta ?Lady Bird Johnson,? the First Lady of Texas Broadcasting, will be honored as TAB's Pioneer Broadcaster of the Year for her success in the once male-dominated world of Texas broadcasting. She purchased KTBC-AM Austin in 1942 and turned the failing AM radio station into a media empire.

Johnson went on to build KTBC-TV and gave Austin its first television broadcast on Thanksgiving Day 1952, when they aired the University of Texas/Texas A&M football game. KTBC received its FM broadcasting permit on March 10, 1960 and renamed the station KLBJ-AM on July 15, 1973. KLBJ has been on the air longer than any other commercial FM station in Austin.

She was honored in 1998 when TAB and the Texas Broadcast Education Foundation established a $2,000 scholarship in her name for a UT-Austin broadcast student.

Broadcaster of the Year
Meredith BealTAB will present the Broadcaster of the Year Award to Mr. Meredith Beal for his commitment to excellence and local community service. Beal, president and CEO of Lasting Value Broadcast Group, purchased KCLW Hamilton in 2000 and has since increased local programming, added local news and created new public affairs programs such as ?What Do You Think.? One of the most popular on the station, the program features interviews with candidates for local, county and state political offices.

Educator of the Year
Augie GrantTAB will present the Educator of the Year Award to Dr. August ?Augie? Grant for his continuing commitment to Texas broadcasting. Grant, associate professor at the University of South Carolina, is a technology futurist who specializes in research on new media technologies and consumer behavior.

Since 1994, Grant has been a consultant to the Texas Association of Broadcasters, conducting a variety of research projects including TAB's Annual Public Service Report.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Ann ArnoldTAB will present the association's first Lifetime Achievement Award to President Ann Arnold for her extraordinary leadership of TAB over the past 20 years.

Since she joined TAB in 1987, the association has increased membership more than 50 percent; vastly expanded member services; constructed a permanent home in Austin; defeated numerous legislative proposals that would have created enormous hardships for broadcasters and the communities they serve; become a stalwart defender of open government; and advanced several major state and federal policy issues that have contributed to the economic vitality of the Texas broadcast industry.

Contact TAB's Emily Lehane or call (512) 322-9944 for more information.

More Convention information...

Awards Gala Sponsors

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News