Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > News & Events > News > Bipartisan Effort…
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Bipartisan Effort Powering Performance Tax Measure

- Senate, House Leaders Team Up

A bipartisan group of members of Congress from across the country are taking the lead in advancing the latest iteration of The Local Radio Freedom Act which opposes efforts by the record labels to impose a new royalty on Radio stations, a move that would cripple many stations and force others to abandon music formats.

For several years, the House effort was led by two representatives from Texas, Houston Democrat Gene Green and Midland Republican Mike Conaway. Both are now retired, and the baton is now carried by Reps. Kathy Castor, D-FL, and Steve Womack, R-AR.

In the Senate, the effort is being led by New Mexico Democrat Martin Heinrich and John Barrasso, a Wyoming Republican.

The measure is known as H. Con. Res. 33 in the House and S. Con. Res. 9 in the Senate.

Texas Congressional Support
Broadcasters need the support of at least 218 members of the House to prevail on the matter; 87 signed on in the first week after the measure was filed, six of them Texans, including:

  • Rep. Jodey Arrington, R-Lubbock
  • Rep. Brian Babin, R-Woodville
  • Rep. Vicente Gonzalez, D-Edinburg
  • Rep. Kay Granger, R-Arlington
  • Rep. Van Taylor, R-Plano
  • Rep. Filemon Vela, D-Brownsville

TAB is engaging members throughout the state this week to advance the measure with the rest of the Texas congressional delegation. In-person district meetings are planned for many markets later this summer.

Texas members of Congress who’ve previously supported The Local Radio Freedom Act and whose renewal is still pending include:

  • Rep. Michael Burgess, R-Lewisville
  • Rep. Kevin Brady, R-The Woodlands
  • Rep. John Carter, R-Round Rock
  • Rep. Dan Crenshaw, R-Houston
  • Rep. Henry Cuellar, D-Laredo
  • Rep. Lance Gooden, R-Terrell
  • Rep. Michael McCaul, R-Austin
  • Rep. Marc Veasey, D-Dallas
  • Rep. Randy Weber, R-Alvin
  • Rep. Roger Williams, R-Weatherford

Questions? Contact TAB’s Oscar Rodriguez or call (512) 322-9944.

« Back to News Archive
« Back to Latest News