Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > Convention & Trade Show > Bonner McLane Public Service Awards
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Bonner McLane Public Service Awards

About the Awards

The Texas Association of Broadcasters created the Bonner McLane Public Service Awards to recognize television and radio stations’ outstanding contributions and service to their local communities - including news coverage.

Bonner McLane served as TAB's first executive director. He passed away in 1987.

Read more about Bonner...

  • Six awards are presented each year. Entries are open to TAB Member Stations ONLY.
  • Each winning station receives $500 CASH to use for whatever your station wants to do to celebrate your great works!Entries are judged by a committee of former broadcasters and the TAB President or his designee.
  • Awards are presented at TAB's Annual Convnetion & Trade Show.

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should focus on efforts addressing one significant local need or concern.

Stations cannot submit the same project if they won with that project the previous year.

Demonstration of creativity, originality and positive impact on an issue of overriding concern to a station’s community is extremely important for favorable consideration by the judges.

Elements that will contribute to a successful submission include:

  • Summary of the efforts your station(s) undertook, including an explanation of the need and an assessment of how the station(s) succeeded in addressing that need.  Include the value or amount of airtime, staff time and other resources the station dedicated to the project.
  • Pictures, audio coverage or video of the project in planning and/or execution phase (not to exceed 5 minutes)
  • Coverage of station(s) effort by other media
  • Letters of appreciation from the community

Submissions should not include:

  • Printed invoices of PSA airtime
  • Events that are more station promotion than service to the community

Questions? Contact TAB or call (512) 322-9944.

View Current Winners