Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > Convention & Trade Show > Bonner McLane Public Service Awards
Welcome, guest: Login to your account

Bonner McLane Public Service Awards

Nominations now open for 2018!

Submit nomination form online

About the Awards

The Texas Association of Broadcasters created the Bonner McLane Public Service Awards to recognize television and radio stations’ outstanding contributions and service to their local communities - including news coverage.

Stations nominate themselves in their respective market categories. Six awards are presented each year. Entries are open to TAB Member Stations ONLY.

Each winning station receives a $500 voucher to offset registration fees for TAB programs. Vouchers cannot be used to offset membership dues or ABIP fees.

Entries are judged by a committee of former broadcasters and the TAB President or his designee.

Awards will be presented at the 2018 TAB Convention & Trade Show, Aug. 1-2 at the JW Marriott Downtown Austin.

Submission Guidelines

Submissions should focus on efforts addressing one significant local need or concern between May 1, 2017 and April 30, 2018.

Stations cannot submit the same project if they won with that project the previous year.

Demonstration of creativity, originality and positive impact on an issue of overriding concern to a station’s community is extremely important for favorable consideration by the judges.

Elements that will contribute to a successful submission include:

  • Summary of the efforts your station(s) undertook, including an explanation of the need and an assessment of how the station(s) succeeded in addressing that need.  Include the value or amount of airtime, staff time and other resources the station dedicated to the project.
  • Pictures, audio coverage or video of the project in planning and/or execution phase (not to exceed 5 minutes)
  • Coverage of station(s) effort by other media
  • Letters of appreciation from the community

Submissions should not include:

  • Printed invoices of PSA airtime
  • Events that are more station promotion than service to the community
2017 Bonner McLane Public Service Award Winners
Read more about each 2017 winner
Large Television KXAN-TV Austin
Medium Television KRGV-TV Rio Grande Valley
Small Television KTAB/KRBC-TV Abilene
Large Radio Cox Media Group Houston
Medium Radio KHKX Odessa-Midland
Small Radio KEOM Mesquite
2016 Bonner McLane Public Service Award Winners
Read more about each winner
Large Television KVUE-TV Austin
Medium Television KWTX-TV Waco-Temple-Killeen
Small Television n/a
Large Radio KFMK-FM Austin
KLUV-FM Dallas-Fort Worth
Medium Radio KYKX-FM Tyler-Longview
Small Radio KJAS-FM Jasper

Questions? Contact TAB or call (512) 322-9944.