Member Login

Forgot Password?
Need Login?

You are here: Home > Convention & Trade Show > Awards
Welcome, guest: Login to your account


TAB celebrates the accomplishments of outstanding broadcast leaders and stations!

View Past Winners

All awards are presented at TAB’s Annual Convention & Trade Show.

Contact TAB's Beth Bobbitt for more information.

2020 Note: Based on a recommendation from the co-chairs for the Awards and Convention Planning committees, the Executive Committee has unanimously concurred that we should forgo all awards for 2020 and resume them in 2021. This includes the Bonner McLane Public Service Awards.

Individual Awards

Pioneer Broadcaster of the Year

Current Winner: Jackie Rutlege (retired)

  • Requirements: 25+ years in broadcasting; substantial portion of career in Texas; extensive public service; historical developments; significant industry advances; active participation in TAB
  • Who Can Nominate: TAB members

Broadcaster of the Year

Current Television Winner: Eric Lassberg, KXAN-TV Austin
Current Radio Winner: Tania Moody, KLVT-AM Levelland

  • Requirements: full-time station employee or owner; station must be TAB member; emphasis on achievements in the past year; example to others in broadcasting; 1 nomination/station/year.
  • Who Can Nominate: TAB members

George Marti Award for Engineering Excellence

Current Winner: David Stewart, Moving Target Consulting / KPET Lamesa

  • Requirements: Individual's excellence and innovation in broadcast engineering for a Texas radio and/or television station; Development of new technology, leadership in education, and contributions to broadcast engineering technical standards
  • Who Can Nominate: TAB members

Associate of the Year

  • Current Winner: Dan Sessler
  • Requirements: Employee or owner at TAB Associate Member company; Helps broadcasters further industry goals
  • Who Can Nominate: TAB members

Distinguished Service Award

Educator of the Year

Current Winner: Mac Aipperspach, Del Mar College

  • Requirements: Dedication to the industry; Active participation in TAB
  • Who Can Nominate: TABE members

Lifetime Achievement Award

Steve Pieringer Award for Outstanding Valor in News Coverage

  • Current Winner: Will Ripley
  • Requirements: Outstanding valor in news coverage; Exemplary display of news reporting; Going “above and beyond” normal call of duty; Award only presented if the review committee feels a nomination has merit
  • Who Can Nominate: TAB members

Jason Hightower Award for Broadcast Excellence (R/TV)

  • Current Winner: NEW for 2020!
  • Requirements: This award recognizes an individual with at least 10 years' experience in the broadcast industry who demonstrates a proficiency for enterprise and innovation in a member station's service to their audience, advertisers and community. The top three (3) nominees in both Radio and TV categories will receive complimentary registration for the TAB2020 Convention & Trade Show, a ticket to the Annual Awards Gala (where the winners will be announced), as well as two (2) complimentary hotel room nights.
  • Who Can Nominate: TAB members

Station Awards

Bonner McLane Public Service Awards

  • Current Winners: View list
  • Requirements: Excellence in community service
  • Who Can Nominate: TAB member stations

Lone Star Leader Awards

  • Current Winner: View list
  • Requirements: Most spots donated; Greatest dollar amount donated to TAB's PEP program
  • Who Can Nominate: TAB

Questions? Contact TAB at (512) 322-9944.